New ministers announced at DWP and DfE

There have been a number of ministerial changes announced in the recent reshuffle.

The new Minister for Disabled People, Health and Work is Chloe Smith MP. She replaces Justin Tomlinson who has been appointed Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party. Chloe is the ninth person to occupy the role since 2010.

She was Minister of State (Minister for the Constitution and Devolution) from 13 February 2020 to 15 September 2021. She was Parliamentary Secretary at the Cabinet Office from 9 January 2018 to 13 February 2020 and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Northern Ireland and Assistant Government Whip for the House of Commons from 15 June 2017 to 8 January 2018.

She was elected Conservative MP for Norwich North on 23 July 2009. Before entering Parliament, Chloe worked for international consultancy firm Deloitte, advising private businesses, government departments and public bodies.


Education Secretary of State, Gavin Williamson MP, has been replaced by Nadim Zahawi MP, a former Minister for Children and Families.

Children and Families Minister, Vicky Ford MP, has moved to the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office and has been replaced by Will Quince, MP for Colchester. He was previously a junior minister at the Department of Work and Pensions.

Apprenticeship and skills minister, Gillian Keegan, has become a Minister of State at the Department of Health and Social Care. She's been replaced by Alex Burghart, MP for Brentwood and Ongar.